${f M}_{ m ARK}$ ${f J}_{ m ONATHAN}$ ${f R}_{ m EID}$

Name:

Education:

1966–1971 Univ. of Calif. San Diego: BA Physics

1971–1975 Caltech: PhD Planetary Science and Astronomy

Current Position:

1988– Senior Radio Astronomer, Center for Astrophysics | Harvard & Smithsonian

Professional Experience:

1971–1975 Graduate Research Assistant, Caltech

1975–1977 Center Fellow, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics

1977–1978 Assistant Scientist, National Radio Astronomy Observatory

1979 Associate Scientist, National Radio Astronomy Observatory

1979– Lecturer, Harvard University

1979–1988 Radio Astronomer, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory

1987 Visiting Scientist, Institute de Radio Astromomie Millimetrique, Grenoble, France

1988– Senior Radio Astronomer, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory

1991 Visiting Associate, California Institute of Technology

1992-1997 Associate Director, Radio & Geoastronomy Division, CfA.

1999-2000 Humboldt Senior Award, Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie, Bonn, Germany

2000–2009 Director, CfA Radio Telescope Data Center

Professional Societies:

U.S. National Academy of Sciences

AAS (American Astronomical Society)

IAU (International Astronomical Union)

URSI (International Union of Radio Science)

Thesis:	VLBI Observations of OH Masers Associated with Long Period Variable Stars.
Research Interests:	Radio Astronomy, interferometry, VLBI, astrometry, molecular spectroscopy, masers, magnetic fields, galactic structure, super-massive black holes, Mira variables, extragalactic radio sources and cosmology.

Honors and Awards

- Research Publication Award, Naval Research Laboratory, 1979.
- American Astronomical Society "Top Astronomy Stories of 1986" for measurement of the distance to the Galactic Center.
- Smithsonian Achievement Award for work as the LOC chairman in organizing the IAU Symposium No. 129: The Impact of VLBI on Astrophysics and Geophysics, 1987.
- Smithsonian Achievement Award for research excellence in directly measuring the distance to the Galactic Center, 1988.
- Elected to American Astronomical Society, Nominating Committee, 1997.
- Alexander von Humboldt Senior Research Award, 1999
- Beatrice M. Tinsley Prize (American Astronomical Society) 2008
- Smithsonian Research Prize 2011
- Jansky Prize Lecturer, National Radio Astronomy Observatory 2012
- Maria and Eric Muhlmann Award, Astronomical Socieity of the Pacific 2019
- Elected to National Academy of Sciences 2020