CfA Colloquia: Information for Speakers
 
Colloquium Schedule | Instructions for Local Hosts

Staff Contacts

Name Position Email Address
Sean Andrews Organizing Committee Co-chair sandrews@cfa.harvard.edu
Alexey Vikhlinin Organizing Committee Co-chair avikhlinin@cfa.harvard.edu
Debbie Nickerson Administrative Issues (travel arrangements reimbursements) dnickerson@cfa.harvard.edu
Geri Barney HCO Business Office (dinner reimbursements for speaker's host) gbarney@cfa.harvard.edu
Robb Scholten Astronomy Department Coordinator rscholten@cfa.harvard.edu
Nigel Atkins Webcast Production and Directing natkins@cfa.harvard.edu
Molly Wasser mwasser@cfa.harvard.edu
Shaun Gallagher Audio Technical Support sgallagher@cfa.harvard.edu
Sean Andrews Webmaster sandrews@cfa.harvard.edu

General Information

  • Travel and Accommodation: Debbie Nickerson will contact you directly concerning travel arrangements. You have the option to book your own travel (e.g. airline/train), and you will also book your own lodging. The CfA will reimburse your lodging costs. Debbie will provide you with contact information for recommended nearby accomodations. Please DO NOT make any arrangements yourself until you have consulted with her or one of the organizers.

  • Location: CfA Colloquia are normally held in Phillips Auditorium (Building D) at the Center for Astrophysics, 60 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA USA. The Maps and Directions to the CfA page may help with your travel plans.

  • Time: Talks start at 4:00 PM, preceded by tea at 3:30 PM. Please plan to finish your presentation before 5:00 PM to leave time for questions.

  • Title and Abstract: We need the formal title of your talk and a short abstract as soon as possible, but no later than two weeks before the Colloquium. This allows us time to have the talk announced in local calendars.

  • Local Host: You will be assigned a local host who will help you find your way around the CfA, arrange for the Colloquium dinner, and coordinate with the student facilitator for audio/visual needs. The Instructions for Local Hosts has details on the local host's duties.

  • Video Release Form: Please complete and sign the release form which gives permission for a video file of your presentation to be posted on the CfA web pages (or requests that it not be posted). If you are unable to do this beforehand, the student facilitator in charge of AV equipment will have copies on hand.

  • Student Interaction: We hope that you will be able to meet with the graduate students for a pizza lunch (typically) on Friday at noon (although Thursday at noon is also possible).

 
 

Section Photo