Casimir Forces: Recent Developments in Experiment and Theory

November 14 - 16, 2002

Organizers: Umar Mohideen and James Babb

 Home

 Workshops

Participants

Schedule 

Online Talks

 Abstracts

Conference Rooms 

 Map 

Online Talks

 Barton

Bordag 

 Brevik

Carugno 

 Cole

Dalvit 

Elizalde 

 Fischbach

Ford 

 Fulling

Graham

 Hushwater

Iannuzzi 

Kardar 

Khemani 

 Klimchitskaya

Lafyatis 

Maclay 

  Milton

Mohideen 

Mostepanenko 

 Ninham

 Nussinov

 Parsegian

Ruoso 

Sernelius 

 Shimizu

Sucher

 Villarreal
           

Schedule

Thursday Nov. 14 (Pratt Conference Room)

Session I: Temperature Dependence of the Casimir Effect
Chair: U. Mohideen

8:30 Coffee
8:45 K. Kirby: Welcome remarks,
9:00 B. Sernelius: Van der Waals and Casimir Forces: Effects of Finite Temperature and Dissipation
9:30 G. Klimchitskaya: Problems with the Thermal Casimir Force Between Real Metals
10:00 Coffee
10:30 B. Ninham: Casimir -Lifshitz: LESSONS from CHEMISTRY
11:00 D. Cole: Thermodynamic Issues Related to Casimir Forces from a Classical Physics Perspective
11:30 Informal discussion
12:00 Lunch
 
Session II: Experimental Realizations in the Solid State
Chair: TBD

2:00 U. Mohideen: Casimir Force Experiments Using the Atomic Force Microscope 
2:30 D. Iannuzzi: Influence of the Optical Properties of Materials in the Casimir-Lifshitz Force
3:00 G. Ruoso: Measurement of the Casimir Force Between Parallel Metallic Surfaces
3:30 Coffee
4:00 G. Carugno: Motion Induced Radiation
4:30 D. Dalvit: Dynamical Casimir Effect in 3D
5:00 C. Villarreal: Casimir Forces in Non-Homogeneous Planar and Spherical Systems

5:30 Reception

Friday Nov. 15 (Phillips Auditorium)

Session III: Quantum Field Theoretic Approaches to the Casimir Effect. I.
Chair: K. Milton

8:45 M. Bordag: On the Vacuum Energy of the Color Magnetic Vortex
9:15 S. Fulling: Systematics of the Relationship between Vacuum Energy Calculations and Heat Kernel Coefficients
9:45 N. Graham: Casimir Energies in Light of Quantum Field Theory
10:15 Coffee

Session IV: Quantum Field Theoretic Approaches to the Casimir Effect. II.
Chair: S. Fulling


10:45 K. Milton: Calculating Casimir Energies in Renormalizable Quantum Field Theory
11:15 E. Elizalde: Calculations of the Casimir Effect in Cosmology
11:45 V. Khemani: Fermion Vacuum Energy Effects on the Higgs Sector of the Electroweak Theory
12:15 Lunch

Session V: Quantum Field Theoretic Approaches to the Casimir Effect. III.
Chair: M. Bordag

2:00 M.Kardar: Path Integral Formulation for Deformed Boundaries
2:30 G. Barton: Casimir Effects for a Conducting Spherical Shell: Between C60 and the Lamb Shift
3:00 I. Brevik: Casimir effect in dielectrics: On the low-frequency contributions
3:30 Coffee

Session VI: Casimir Effects and Atoms
Chair: J. Babb

4:00 F. Shimizu: Quantum Reflection of a Neutral Atom from Solid Surface
4:30 G. Lafyatis: Measurements of Long-Range Atom-Surface Forces
5:00 J. Sucher: Higher-Order Poles in Electron-Hydrogen Scattering: Who Ordered That?
5:30 Discussion

Saturday, Nov. 16 (Phillips Auditorium)

Session VII: Shape Dependencies of the Casimir Effect
Chair: V. Mostepanenko

8:45 V. Hushwater: Survey of Repulsive Casimir Forces
9:15 S. Nussinov: New Variants and Other Results for the Casimir Effect
9:45 J. Maclay: Casimir Forces in Cavities with a Finite Plasma Frequency
10:15 Coffee

Session VIII: Long-Range Forces
Chair: L. Ford

10:30 E. Fischbach: Isotopic Dependence of the Casimir Force: Theory and Experiment
11:00 V. Mostepanenko: Constraints on Predictions of Fundamental Physics from the Recent Casimir Force Measurements
11:30 L. Ford: Focusing Vacuum Fluctuations
12:00 A. Parsegian:  e(z)
12:30 Discussion on Dark Energy and the Casimir Effect

 

Participants

Dr. James F. Babb
ITAMP
MS 14, 60 Garden St.
Cambridge, MA 02138
jbabb@cfa.harvard.edu

Prof. Gabriel Barton [Abstract]
Centre for Theoretical Physics
University of Sussex,
Brighton BN1 9QH, UK
G.Barton@sussex.ac.uk

Dr. Michael Bordag [Abstract]
Institute for Theoretical Physics
University of Leipzig
Augustusplatz 10
04109 Leipzig, GERMANY
michael.bordag@itp.uni-leipzig.de

Prof. Iver H Brevik [Abstract]
Division of Applied Mechanics
Norwegian University of Science and Technology
N-7491 TRONDHEIM Norway
iver.h.brevik@mtf.ntnu.no

Dr. Federico Capasso
Lucent Technologies
Bell Laboratories
Room 1D-269
600 Mountain Avenue
Murray Hill, NJ 07974-0636
fc@lucent.com

Dr. Giovanni Carugno [Abstract]
Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare
Via Marzolo,
8- 35131 Padova, Italy
carugno@pd.infn.it

Prof. Dan C. Cole [Abstract]
Department of Manufacturing and Engineering
Boston University
15 St. Mary's Street
Brookline, MA 02446
dccole@bu.edu

Mr. Hector M. Crocce
Physics Department
New York University
4 Washington Pl, P.O. Box 52
New York, NY 10003
hmc238@nyu.edu

Dr. Diego A. R. Dalvit [Abstract]
Theoretical Division
P.O. Box 210
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Los Alamos, NM 87545
dalvit@lanl.gov

Prof. Emilio Elizalde [Abstract]
IEEC/CSIC
Edifici Nexus, Gran Capita, 2-4
08034 Barcelona, Spain
elizalde@ieec.fcr.es

Prof. Ephraim Fischbach [Abstract]
Physics Department
Purdue University
525 Northwestern Ave.
W. Lafayette, IN 47907-2036
ephraim@physics.purdue.edu
 
Prof. Larry H. Ford [Abstract]
Physics Department
Tufts University
Medford, MA 02155
ford@cosmos.phy.tufts.edu

Prof. Stephen A. Fulling [Abstract]
Mathematics Department
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX 77843-3368
fulling@math.tamu.edu

Prof. Noah M. Graham [Abstract]
Bicentennial Hall
Middlebury College
Middlebury, VT 05753
ngraham@middlebury.edu

Dr. Velvel S. Hushwater [Abstract]
455 Grant Ave., #7
Palo Alto, CA 94306
quantcosmos@yahoo.com

Dr. Davide Iannuzzi [Abstract]
Lucent Technologies
Bell Laboratories Innovations
Room 7c202
600 Mountain Ave.
Murray Hill, NJ 07974
diannuzzi@lucent.com

Prof. Enrico Iacopini
INFN - Sezione di Firenze
Largo E. Fermi, 2
I-50125 FIRENZE, Italy
iacopini@fi.infn.it

Prof. Robert L. Jaffe
Director, Center for Theoretical Physics
6-311 MIT, 77 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02139
jaffe@mit.edu

Prof. Mehran Kardar [Abstract]
Physics Department, Room 12-108
MIT
77 Massachusetts Ave.
Cambridge, MA 02139
kardar@MIT.EDU

Mr. Vishesh Khemani [Abstract]
6-106 Center for Theoretical Physics
M.I.T.
77 Massachusetts Ave.
Cambridge, MA 02139
vishesh@mit.edu

Prof. Galina L. Klimchitskaya [Abstract]
Departamento de Fisica
Universidade Federal da Paraiba,
C.P.5008, CEP 58059-970,
Joao Pessoa, Pb-Brazil
galina@fisica.ufpb.br

Prof. Gregory P. Lafyatis [Abstract]
Department of Physics
Ohio State University
274 W. 18th Ave.
Columbus, OH 43210
lafyatis@mps.ohio-state.edu

Dr. Jordan Maclay [Abstract]
Quantum Fields LLC
20918 Wildflower Lane
Richland Center, WI 53581
jordanmaclay@quantumfields.com

Prof. Kimball A. Milton [Abstract]
Department of Physics and Astronomy
440 West Brooks, Room 131
The University of Oklahoma
Norman, OK 73019-2061
milton@nhn.ou.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Prof. Umar Mohideen
Department of Physics
University of California
Riverside, CA 92506
umar.mohideen@ucr.edu

Prof. Vladimir M. Mostepanenko [Abstract]
Departamento de Fisica
Universidade Federal da Paraiba,
C.P. 5008, CEP 58059-970,
Joao Pessoa, Pb-Brazil
mostep@fisica.ufpb.br

Prof. Barry W. Ninham [Abstract]
Department of Chemistry and CSGI,
University of Florence
via della Lastruccia 3, Sesto Fiorentino
50019 Florence, Italy
Barry.Ninham@anu.edu.au

Prof. Shmuel Nussinov [Abstract]
Department of Physics,
School of Natural Sciences
Institute for Advanced Study
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ 08544
nussinov@post.tau.ac.il

[Home Institution] Tel-Aviv University
School of Physics and Astronomy
Kaplun Bldg 404
Ramat Aviv
Tel-Aviv, Israel

Dr. V. Adrian Parsegian [Abstract]
12A/2041
NIH
Bethesda, MD 20892-5626
aparsegi@helix.nih.gov

Dr. Giuseppe Ruoso [Abstract]
INFN LNL
Viale dell'Universitá, 2
35020 Legnaro, Italy
Ruoso@lnl.infn.it

Prof. Bo E. Sernelius [Abstract]
Dept. of Physics and Measurement Technology
Linköping University
SE-581 83 Linköping, SWEDEN
bos@ifm.liu.se

Prof. Fujio Shimizu [Abstract]
University of Electro-Communications
Institute for Laser Science
Chofu-shi, 182-8585, Tokyo, Japan
fshimizu@ils.uec.ac.jp

Prof. Joseph Sucher [Abstract]
Department of Physics
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742
jsucher@physics.umd.edu
Dr. Carlos Villarreal [Abstract]
Institute de Fisica
Universidad Autonoma de Mexico
Apartado Postal 20-364
Mexico, 01000, D.F.
carlos@fisica.unam.mx
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 Home

 Workshops
 Top