Research Scientists Proposing Predoctoral Projects, 2014
 

Topics linked here lead to detailed project description pages.

Ashby, Matthew L. N., 617-496-7742, Observatory M-212, mashby@cfa.harvard.edu, Infrared Galaxy Surveys; Starburst Galaxies; Star Formation Diagnostics.

Avrett, Eugene H., 617-495-7423, Observatory P-340, eavrett@cfa.harvard.edu, Theory of Stellar Atmospheres and Spectra; Models of Solar and Stellar Atmospheres; Computer Simulation of Solar and Stellar Spectra.

Benbow, Wystan, 617-496-7597, Observatory P-323, wbenbow@cfa.harvard.edu, Very High Energy Gamma-Ray Astronomy with VERITAS, Active Galactic Nuclei (Blazars), Radio Galaxies, Starburst Galaxies, Gamma-ray Bursts, Cherenkov Telescope Array.

DeLuca, Edward, 617-496-7725, Observatory P136, edeluca@cfa.harvard.edu, Solar magnetic field modeling, active region structure and stability, developing the scientific basis for space weather.

Drake, Jeremy J., 617-496-7850, Observatory B-441, jdrake@cfa.harvard.edu, High Energy Stellar Physics; Stellar Coronae; Stellar Magnetic Activity; Element Abundances and Stellar Evolution; Extreme Ultraviolet and X-ray Astronomy.

Elvis, Martin S., 617-495-7442, Observatory B-424, melvis@cfa.harvard.edu, Extragalactic X-ray Astronomy, Quasars, and AGN; Multiwaveband Studies (X-ray, uv, ir, mm, and radio) of Continuum and Lines in Quasars; Models for Quasars-Structured Winds as a Path to Unification, Physical Evolution; High Z Clusters of Galaxies; High Resolution of Imaging in AGNs; Chandra-COSMOS Deep-Wide Survey.

Golub, Leon , 617-495-7177, Observatory P-132, lgolub@cfa.harvard.edu, Dynamics of the Solar Corona; High-resolution X-ray and Extreme Ultraviolet Instrumentation; Solar and Stellar Coronal Plasma and Dynamo Theory.

Green, Paul J., 617-495-7057, Observatory B-434, pgreen@cfa.harvard.edu, Spectroscopy of Large Optical Variability-Selected Samples; X-ray Properties of Active Galactic Nuclei; Properties of the Mysterious Dwarf Carbon Stars.

McCarthy, Michael C., 617-495-7262 or 617-495-9848, P-256, mmccarthy@cfa.harvard.edu, Laboratory Spectroscopy of Highly-Reactive Molecules of Astrophysical Interest.

McCollough, Michael L., 617-496-2119, Observatory B-240, mmccollough@cfa.harvard.edu; X-ray Binaries; Supernova remnants; High-Energy Astrophysics; Multiwavelength Studies; X-ray Astronomy; Gamma-ray Astronomy.

Myers, Philip C., 617-495-7295, M-318, pmyers@cfa.harvard.edu, Star formation observations and models; molecular clouds, dense cores, protostars, clusters. Predoc project: How do stars get their mass?

Prestwich, Andrea, 617-496-7576, Observatory B-404, aprestwich@cfa.harvard.edu, X-ray Binaries; Extragalactic X-ray Astronomy; Extragalactic Star Formation; Ultra-Luminous X-ray Sources -- Environments of X-ray Sources.

Reid, Mark, 617-495-7470, Observatory M-305, mreid@cfa.harvard.edu, Direct Measurement of the Hubble Constant and Mapping the Milky Way.

Rothman, Laurence S., 617-495-7474, Observatory P-248, Lrothman@cfa.harvard.edu, High-resolution Molecular Spectroscopy; Database Compilation.

Siemiginowska, Aneta L., 617-495-7243, Observatory B-425, asiemiginowska@cfa.harvard.edu, Theory of Accretion Disks; Large Scale X-ray Jets; Active Galactic Nuclei.

Slane, Pat, 617-495-7256, Observatory B-421, pslane@cfa.harvard.edu Galactic X-ray Astrophysics; Young Neutron Stars: cooling, Pulsar Wind nebulae, Associations with SNRs, Magnetars; Supernova Remnants: Evolution, Ejecta, Particle Acceleration, Interactions with Molecular Clouds.

Stark, Anthony, 617-495-7256, Observatory B-421, astark@cfa.harvard.edu, The South Pole Telescope.

 
 

Clay Fellow Warren Brown