SSP Seminars: Fall 2012
 

SSP seminars are held from 12:00pm to 1:00pm in the Pratt conference room, PG-04, 60 Garden Street, unless otherwise noted below.

Monday 10th September 2012
12:00
Jennifer Marshall (Texas A&M)
The GMACS Spectrograph for GMT
Monday 17th September 2012
12:00
Steve Vogt (University of California Santa Cruz) ROOM CHANGE: M340
An Update on the Habitable-Zone Planet Gliese 581g
Monday 24th September 2012
12:00
Meet and Greet SSP: Dave Charbonneau, Steve Cranmer, Elisabeth Newton, Jose Galache, Willie Torres, Dimitar Sasselov, Zach Berta, Courtney Dressing, Andy Szentgyorgyi, and Andrea Dupree
Short presentations of latest research!
Monday 1st October 2012
12:00
Meet and Greet SSP - 2: Dave Latham, Mari Paz Miralles, Tim Spar, Aad van Ballegooijen, Sukrit Ranjan, John Raymond, Sarah Rugheimer, Leonard Strachan, and Soeren Meibom
More short presentations of latest research!
Monday 8th October 2012
12:00
Happy Columbus Day!
Monday 15th October 2012
12:00
Iain McDonald (University of Manchester, UK)
Stellar Death at Low Metallicity
Monday 22th October 2012
12:00
Bjoern Benneke (MIT)
Characterization of Super-Earth Exoplanets: Application to GJ1214b
Tuesday 30th October 2012
12:00
JJ Hermes (University of Texas at Austin)
Rapid Orbital Decay in the 12.75-Minute WD+WD Binary J0651+2844 ROOM CHANGE: M340; TIME CHANGE: 12:30 pm
Monday 12th November 2012
12:00
Veteran's Day
Monday 19th November 2012
12:00
Yuka Fujii, University of Tokyo
Exploring the Landscape of Habitable Exoplanets via Their Disk-integrated Colors and Spectra: Indications for Future Direct Imaging Observations
Monday 26th November 2012
12:00
Jun Lin, Yunnan Astronomical Observatory, China
Turbulent Features of Reconnecting Current Sheets in CME/Flare Processes
Monday 3rd December 2012
12:00
Renyu Hu, MIT
Atmospheric Photochemistry and Potential Biosignatures on Terrestrial Exoplanets
Monday 10th December 2012
12:00
George Sonneborn, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Imaging and Spectroscopy with the James Webb Space Telescope
Wednesday 12th December 2012
2:00 pm
SPECIAL SSP SEMINAR: Bernhard Kliem (Potsdam University/Mullard Space Science Laboratory)
(NOTE TIME/DATE CHANGE)
Rapid Cavity Formation and Expansion in CME's
Monday 24th December 2012
12:00
Holiday
Monday 31st December 2012
12:00
New Year's Eve

[Past and future seminars]

To speakers: Please be sure to send an abstract of your talk to Mah Asgari (masgari-targhi at cfa.harvard.edu) and Andrea Dupree (dupree at cfa.harvard.edu) by the close of business on the Wednesday (or at the very latest, 12pm EST/EDT on the Thursday) before the talk, in order to allow us to advertise it in the weekly CfA events calendar. Please send a title as soon as it is ready. Directions to the CfA are available here, and the OIR group maintain a useful guide to local accommodations for visitors from out of town. A map of the CfA is available here.

Please contact Mah Asgari (masgari-targhi at cfa.harvard.edu) and Andrea Dupree (adupree at cfa.harvard.edu) if you would like to give a talk, or if you have a visitor that you would like us to invite to give a talk.


 
 

Section Photo