American Astronomical Society (AAS)

The American Astronomical Society (AAS), established 1899, is the major organization of professional astronomers in North America. The basic objective of the AAS is to promote the advancement of astronomy and closely related branches of science. The membership (~7,000) also includes physicists, mathematicians, geologists, engineers and others whose research interests lie within the broad spectrum of subjects now comprising contemporary astronomy.

Society Prizes and Awards

Henry Norris Russell Lectureship: lifetime achievement Newton Lacy Pierce Prize in Astronomy: early career, observational Helen B. Warner Prize for Astronomy: early career, observational or theoretical Beatrice M. Tinsley Prize: especially innovative research Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics: mid-career George Van Biesbroeck Prize: extraordinary service Annie J Cannon Award Education Prize
  • Philip Sadler - 2010 (read more)
  • Owen Gingerich - 2004

Divisional Prizes, Awards, and Medals

Dirk Brouwer Award LeRoy E Doggett Prize
  • Owen Gingerich - 2000
Karen Harvey Prize Gerard P. Kuiper Prize Bruno Rossi Prize

Section Photo