Director's Office (DO)

About Us

The Director's Office of the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics (CfA) provides leadership and administrative direction to the CfA and consists of the Director Charles Alcock of the Harvard College Observatory (HCO) and of the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) and his staff. The Director's Office oversees the science, technical service, and administrative service groups.



Director: Charles Alcock (617) 495-7100
    Assistant to the Director: Susan Hessenthaler (617) 495-7102
Deputy Director: Roger Brissenden (617) 495-7387
Senior Science Advisor: Nancy Brickhouse (617) 495-7438
    Administrative Specialist: Margaret Carroll (617) 495-7099
       Staff Assistant: Debra Nickerson (617)495-7703
    CfA Fellowship Coordinator: Christine Crowley (617) 495-7103
Associate Director for Administration (HCO): Maureen Connors (617) 495-2540
Chief Advancement and External Affairs Officer: Sharon K. Allen (617) 495-7410
    Public Affairs Specialist: Christine Pulliam (617) 495-7463
    Gift Officer: Jennifer Raymond (617) 496-7581
    Staff Assistant: Valerie Boyle (617) 495-1490

Section Photo