External Prize Index

To view the complete prize list, and their details, please click here.

AAAS Award for Public Engagement with Science (formerly the AAAS Award for Public Understanding of Science and Technology)
AAAS Award for Science Diplomacy (formerly the AAAS Award for International Scientific Cooperation)
AAAS Mentor Awards
AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize
AAAS Scientific Freedom and Responsibility Award
Philip Huage Abelson Prize
Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award in Fluid Dynamics
Will Allis Prize for the Study of Ionized Gases
Esther Hoffman Beller Medal
Lancelot M. Berkeley - New York Community Trust Prize for Meritorious Work in Astronomy
Hans A. Bethe Prize
Max Born Award
Edward A. Bouchet Award
William Bowie Medal
Herbert P. Broida Prize
Dirk Brouwer Award
Walter H. Bucher Medal
Joseph A. Burton Forum Award
Vannevar Bush Award
A.E. Conrady Award
Annie J. Cannon Award in Astronomy
The Chapman Medal
The Cosmology Prize
COSPAR Distinguished Service Medal
COSPAR International Cooperation Medal
COSPAR Massey Award
COSPAR Space Science Award
George Darwin Lectureship
Dan David Prize
Davisson-Germer Prize in Atomic or Surface Physics
Director's Award
Dissertation Award in Nuclear Physics
Distinguished Service Award
LeRoy E. Doggett Prize for Historical Astronomy
George E. Duvall Shock Compression Science Award (formerly the Shock Compression Science Award)
Early Achievement Award
The Eddington Medal
Harold E. Edgerton Award
Education Prize
John Adam Fleming Medal
Fluid Dynamics Prize
Paul F. Forman Engineering Excellence Award
Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize
Dennis Gabor Award
George W. Goddard Award
Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award
The Gold Medal A (for Astronomy and Astrophysics)
The Gold Medal G (for geophysics, solar physics, solar-terrestrial physics, planetary sciences, and related fields)
Gold Medal of the Society
George Ellery Hale Prize (formerly the Honorary Prize in Memory of George Ellery Hale)
Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics
The Herschel Medal
Harry H. Hess Medal
Frank Isakson Prize for Optical Effects in Solid
Frederic Ives Medal/Jarus W. Quinn Prize
The Jackson-Gwilt Medal
The Karl G. Jansky Lectureship (also known as the Jansky Prize)
The Jeoujang Jaw Award
Harold Jeffreys Lectureship
The Rudolf Kingslake Medal and Prize
Klumpke-Roberts Award
Gerard P. Kuiper Prize in Planetary Science
Kyoto Prize
Edwin H. Land Medal
Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize
Ellis R. Lippincott Award
Adolph Lomb Award
MacArthur Fellows Program
James B. Macelwane Medal
Harold Masursky Meritorious Service Award
James Clerk Maxwell Prize for Plasma Physics
James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials
C.E.K. Mees Medal
William F. Meggers Award
Maria & Eric Muhlmann Award
National Medal of Science
National Science Board Public Service Award
Nicholas Metropolis Award for Outstanding Thesis Work in Computational Physics
Nicholson Medal for Human Outreach (formerly the Nicholson Medal for Humanitarian Service)
William Nordberg Medal
OSA Leadership Award
Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Atomic, Molecular, or Optical Physics
Newton Lacy Pierce Prize in Astronomy
Francis M. Pipkin Award
The Herbert C. Pollock Award
PPGF Fellowship Programme
President's Award
The Price Medal
Earle K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy
I.I. Rabi Prize in Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics
Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics
David Richardson Medal
Bruno Rossi Prize
Henry Norris Russell Lectureship
Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences
J.J. Sakurai Prize for Theoretical Particle Physics
Carl Sagan Medal for Excellence in Public Communication in Planetary Science
The Vikram Sarabhai Medal
SPIE Technology Achievement Award
G.G. Stokes Award
Leo Szilard Lectureship Award
Beatrice M. Tinsley Prize
Charles Hard Townes Award
Robert J. Trumpler Award
John Tyndall Award
Harold C. Urey Prize in Planetary Science
George E. Valley, Jr. Prize
George Van Biesbroeck Prize
Chandra S. Vikram Award in Optical Metrology
Herbert Walther Award
Helen B. Warner Prize for Astronomy
Alan T. Waterman Award
James Craig Watson Medal
Joseph Weber Award for Astronomical Instrumentation
John Wheatley Award
Gerald Whitrow Lectureship
Charles A. Whitten Medal
Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal
R.W. Wood Award
The Zeldovich Medals

Section Photo