Galaxies & Cosmology Seminar Schedule

Click on the date to view more information about each talk.

Date Speaker Title
Tue 09/04/2018
  1. Mohammad Safarzadeh (ASU)
  2. Warren Brown (Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory)
  1. r-process enrichment of the lightest galaxies by fast merging neutron star binaries
  2. CfA Optical/Infrared Telescopes, Instruments, and Time Allocation
Tue 09/11/2018
  1. Johan Samsing (Princeton)
  2. Eric Pellegrini (Heidelberg University)
  1. Black Hole Mergers in Dense Stellar Systems
  2. WARPFIELD II-EMP: The Connection between Cluster Growth and ISM Emission: Time-Dependent Hii+PDR emission from Self-Regulated Star Formation
Tue 09/18/2018
  1. Meng Gu (Harvard)
  2. Sara Issaoun (Radboud)
  1. Hierarchical Assembly of Stellar Envelopes in Galaxy Clusters
  2. Sagittarius A* at 86 GHz: first results from VLBI with ALMA
Tue 09/25/2018
  1. Nick Devereux (Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University)
  1. Giant Broad-line Regions in Low-luminosity Active Galactic Nuclei
Tue 10/02/2018
  1. Boris Leistedt (NYU)
  2. Andrew Emerick (Columbia)
  1. Forward, causal modeling galaxy photometry
  2. Feedback and Chemical Enrichment in Low Mass Dwarf Galaxies: Insights from Simulations Tracking Individual Stars
Tue 10/09/2018
  1. Emily Cunningham (UCSC)
  2. Fangzhou Jiang (Hebrew University Jerusalem)
  1. HALO7D: Disentangling the Milky Way Accretion History with Observations in 7 Dimensions
  2. Formation of Ultra-diffuse Galaxies in the field and in galaxy groups
Tue 10/16/2018
  1. Jingzhe Ma (UC Irvine)
  2. Chervin Laporte (U Victoria)
  1. The formation and evolution of high-redshift dusty galaxies
  2. Footprints of the Sagittarius dwarf on the Galactic disc from the outer disc to the 6-D Gaia Volume
Tue 10/23/2018
  1. Irene Shivaei (U Arizona)
  2. Vadim Semenov (U Chicago)
  1. TBD
  2. TBD
Tue 10/30/2018
  1. Chiara Feruglio (INAF)
  2. Deyan Mihaylov (University of Cambridge )
  1. TBD
  2. TBD
Tue 11/06/2018
  1. Sarah Loebman (UC Davis)
  2. Rachel Frisbie (University Michigan)
  1. TBD
  2. TBD
Tue 11/13/2018
  1. Dan Wik (University of Utah)
  2. Tsang Keung Chan (UC San Diego)
  1. TBD
  2. TBD
Tue 11/27/2018
  1. Nicha Leethochawalit (Caltech)
  2. Stephen A. Walker (NASA)
  1. TBD
  2. TBD
Tue 12/04/2018
  1. Andreas Faisst (IPAC)
  2. Gabriela Calistro Rivera (Leiden University)
  1. TBD
  2. TBD
Tue 12/11/2018
  1. Tracy Clarke (NRL)
  2. Xin Wang (UCLA)
  1. TBD
  2. TBD