ITC Colloquium Schedule

Click on the date to view more information about each talk.

Date Speaker Title
Thu 09/03/2020
  1. Anna Ho (Caltech)
  2. Aklant Bhowmick (UFL)
  1. The Landscape of Relativistic Stellar Explosions
  2. Supermassive Black hole fueling in IllustrisTNG: Impact of environment
Thu 09/10/2020
  1. Karan Jani (Vanderbilt)
  2. Catherine Zucker (Harvard)
  1. Detection of Lite-Intermediate Mass Black Holes in LIGO-Virgo
  2. 3D Dust Mapping in the Age of Gaia
Thu 09/17/2020
  1. Leonardo dos Santos (Geneva)
  2. Hila Glanz (Technion)
  1. The high-energy environment and atmospheric escape of small exoplanets
  2. New perspectives on common envelope evolution
Thu 09/24/2020
  1. Kim Boddy (UTexas Austin)
  2. Marie Korsaga (U Cape Town)
  1. Searching for Dark Matter Interactions in Cosmology
  2. Astronomers’ response to the COVID-19 pandemic
Thu 10/01/2020
  1. Sarah Jeffreson (ITC)
  2. Azadeh Fattahi (Durham)
  1. The lifecycles of giant molecular clouds in Milky Way-like galaxies
  2. Surviving and destroyed dwarf galaxies: the build-up of the Milky Way's stellar halo
Thu 10/08/2020
  1. Jorge Penarrubia (U Edinburgh)
  2. Kishalay De (Caltech)
  1. Impact of `dark' microhaloes on the dynamics of stars & planetary systems
  2. The faintest thermonuclear supernovae and the explosive fates of helium accreting white dwarfs
Thu 10/15/2020
  1. Jun Makino (National Astronomical Observatory of Japan)
  2. Wenbin Lu (Caltech)
  1. Frameworks for large-scale astrophysical simulations
  2. A Unified Picture of Fast Radio Bursts
Thu 10/22/2020
  1. Jennifer Andrews (Arizona)
  2. Diana Powell (UCSC)
  1. TBD
  2. TBD
Thu 10/29/2020
  1. Wren Suess (Berkeley)
  2. Jens Chluba (U Manchester)
  1. TBD
  2. TBD
Thu 11/05/2020
  1. Daniella Bardalez Gagliuffi (AMNH)
  2. Evan Bauer (UCSB)
  1. TBD
  2. TBD
Thu 11/12/2020
  1. Bence Kocsis (Oxford)
  2. Carme Gallart (IAC)
  1. TBD
  2. TBD
Thu 11/19/2020
  1. Annalisa Pillepich (MPIA-HD)
  2. Shazrene Mohamed (SAAO)
  1. TBD
  2. TBD
Thu 12/03/2020
  1. Gwen Rudie (Carnegie)
  2. Priya Natarajan (Yale)
  1. TBD
  2. TBD