Stars & Planets Seminar Schedule

Click on the date to view more information about each talk.

Date Speaker Title Special Note
Fri 09/06/2019
  1. S&P Science Extravaganza 5!
Note special Friday date due to holiday
Mon 09/09/2019
  1. Ronald Mennickent (University of Concepción)
  1. Evidence of a magnetic dynamo in some beta-lyrae type binaries
Mon 09/16/2019
  1. Samaporn (Kaew) Tinyanont (Caltech)
  2. Stephen Justham (Amsterdam)
  1. Insights into massive star explosions from infrared light
  2. Pair explosions from pair combinations: stellar merger paths to extra-ordinary supernovae
Mon 09/23/2019
  1. JJ Hermes (BU)
  2. Ylva Götberg (Carnegie)
  1. New physics from Gaia archaeology of white dwarf stars
  2. The impact of stars stripped in binaries over cosmic time
Mon 09/30/2019
  1. Laura Hayes (GSFC)
  2. Daniel Koll (MIT)
  1. Quasi-Periodic Pulsations in Solar Flares
  2. Are rocky exoplanets toast?
Mon 10/07/2019
  1. Giuliano Liuzzi (NASA Goddard)
  2. Joel Hartman (Princeton)
  1. Mars atmosphere spectroscopy with ExoMars Trace Gas Orbiter and the Planetary Spectrum Generator (PSG)
  2. Giant Planets Transiting Small Stars and Other Science Topics Explored by the HAT Project
Fri 10/18/2019
  1. Marissa Weichman (Colorado)
  2. Raquel Martinez (Texas)
  1. Rovibrational Quantum State Resolution of the C60 Fullerene
  2. TBD
Note special Friday date due to holiday
Mon 10/21/2019
  1. Emily Leiner (Northwestern)
  2. Romy Rodriguez Martinez (OSU)
  1. TBD
  2. Searching for Hot Planets Around Hot Stars with the KELT Survey
Mon 10/28/2019
  1. Tijs Karman (CfA)
  2. Leslie Looney (Illinois)
  1. Collision-induced absorption in atmospheric gases
  2. TBD
Mon 11/04/2019
  1. Diana Powell (UC Santa Cruz)
  2. Trevor David (JPL)
  1. TBD
  2. TBD
Fri 11/15/2019
  1. Asmita Bhandare (MPIA)
  2. Brett McGuire (NRAO)
  1. TBD
  2. PAHs and Carbon Chemistry at the Earliest Stages of Star Formation: A New Paradigm in Astrochemistry
Note special Friday date due to holiday
Mon 11/18/2019
  1. Will Armentrout (Green Bank Observatory)
  2. Aleksandra Kuznetsova (Michigan)
  1. The Most Distant Galactic High-Mass Star Formation
  2. TBD
Mon 11/25/2019
  1. Melinda Soares-Furtado (Princeton)
  2. Maryame El Moutamid (Cornell)
  1. TBD
  2. TBD
Mon 12/02/2019
  1. João Mendonça (Technical University of Denmark)
  2. Patrick Mullen (Illinois)
  1. TBD
  2. TBD
Mon 12/09/2019
  1. James Jackman (University of Warwick)
  2. Todd Mooring (CfA)
  1. TBD
  2. TBD