November 5, 2019
Physics Today article on Paola Cappellaro's group PRL on localization of NMR spin chain, using a crystal bought on eBay
October 30, 2019
Misha Lukin on Google's announcement of Quantum Supremacy
September 11, 2019
With great regrets, we learned that Prof. Anthony Starace passed away on September 5, 2019.

AMO physics and ITAMP lost a great friend in Anthony Starace last Thursday. We at ITAMP are saddened with the news. He served on the ITAMP advisory board and participated in its workshops and winter schools.

June 27, 2019
Bihui Zhu and Rivka Bekenstein in “2019 Rising Stars in Physics Workshop”

ITAMP postdocs Bihui Zhu and Rivka Bekenstein participated in “2019 Rising Stars in Physics Workshop” hosted by the Physics department at Stanford, which aimed to bring the next generation of physics academic leaders together for scientific discussions and informal sessions on navigating the early stages of the academic career. The two ITAMP post-docs were chosen to participate in the workshop out of more than 100 applicants.

May 24, 2019
Nicole Yunger Halpern’s Thesis has won the Prigogine Prize for Thermodynamics!

We’re elated to announce that Nicole Yunger-Halpern has won the 2019 Ilya Prigogine Prize for Thermodynamics. She gave a talk on May 23 in Barcelona.
Great work, Nicole.
Follow this news here:
Nicol’s thesis is at

April 29, 2019
The announcement of endowed fund for Dalgarno Memorial Lectures

We announce that a Harvard Endowment fund for Dalgarno Memorial Lectures was just created. Donations to the endowment fund are welcome. If you'd wish to donate, please go here. In selecting a fund, choose Other - FAS, and enter Dalgarno Memorial Lectures for the fund name.
Suggestions for future lectures are welcome here. Thank you.

April 10, 2019
Playlist Winter School 2019

Playlist Winter School 2019 click HERE.

March 26, 2019
Hiking Catalina Mountain, Winter School, B2 Institute, Arizona

Hiking Catalina Mountain, Winter School, B2 Institute, Arizona, March 10-16, 2019.
L-R Dmitry Abanin, Thierry Giamarchi, Marcel Wagner and Immanuel Bloch.

December 14, 2018
Holiday Greetings and Best New Year Wishes from all of us at ITAMP.
October 24, 2018
Quantum Internet and quantum voting

In a news article in Nature, ITAMP postdoc Nicole Yunger Halpern is quoted about the realization and applicability of quantum voting machine and process ( Last year, she published an article about precisely this scheme and how it may be possible to violate the Arrow's impossibility theorem (named after the economist Kenneth Arrow) (

July 31, 2018
Ewine van Dishoeck is the winner of 2018 Kavli Prize in Astrophysics

Prof. Ewine van Dishoeck was the 2018 Dalgarno Lecturer at ITAMP is the winner of the 2018 Kavli Prize in Astrophysics. Her citation reads, "The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Kavli Prize in Astrophysics for 2018 to Ewine van Dishoeck, Leiden University, NETHERLANDS. “For her combined contributions to observational, theoretical, and laboratory astrochemistry, elucidating the life cycle of interstellar clouds and the formation of stars and planets.”"
More information click here

June 1, 2018
Rivka Bekenstein has won the DAMOP Thesis Prize

We are delighted that our own Rivka Bekenstein has won the DAMOP Thesis Prize competition. She, in fact, becomes the first winner of the renamed thesis prize, the Jin Thesis Prize.

Congratulations Rivka. Well deserved.