High Accuracy Atomic Physics in Astronomy

August 7-9 , 2006


Monday, August 7, 2006   Phillips Auditorium (ITAMP Building) 60 Garden Street Cambridge
Coffee and Pastries


Welcome and Tribute to Mike Seaton
            Kate Kirby, Alex Dalgarno, Anil Pradhan

Session I: Overview: Astrophysical Observations and Atomic Physics
Chair: Kate Kirby

9:30-10:00 Claude Canizares: Recent Highlights from the High Resolution Transmission Grating Spectrometer on the Chandra X-ray Observatory
(Abstract) (Presentation)
10:00-10:30 Alex Dalgarno: Interactions of the Solar Wind


10:30-11:00 Morning Break

Session II: The Iron Project: Theoretical Calculations and Data
Chair: John Tully

11:00-11:30 Werner Eissner: The Breit-Pauli R-matrix code and magnetic interactions



(Abstract) (Presentation)

12:00-12:30 Claudio Mendoza: OPserver: opacities and radiative accelerations on demand
12:30-2:00 Lunch Break

Session III: Astrophysical Observations and Atomic Measurements
Chair: Peter Smith


Andrea Dupree: Cool Stars and Atomic Physics


E. Silver: X-Ray Measurements Using a Microcalorimeter on an Electron Beam Ion Trap                        

3:00-3:30 Julia Lee: Solid State Astrophysics:  Present & Future Prospects
3:30-4:00 Afternoon Break

Session IV: Solar Physics and Abundances
Chair: Anil Pradhan

4:00-4:30 Gene Avrett: Critical Atomic Parameters in the Calculation of Solar C I-IV and O I-VI Emission Lines (Abstract) (Presentation)
4:30-5:00 John Kohl: The Role of Atomic Physics in Spectroscopic Studies of the Solar Corona (Abstract) (Presentation)
5:00-5:30 Jeremy Drake:  
5:30-7:00 Reception - Perkin Lobby  

Tuesday, August 8, 2006   Phillips Auditorium

8:30-9:00 Coffee and Pastries  

Session V: Astrophysical Modeling
Chair: Pete Storey

9:00-9:30 Robert Kurucz: Massive-scale Semi-empirical Calculations of Atomic  Data for Opacities and Spectra
(Abstract) (Presentation)
9:30-10:00 John Raymond: Accurate Atomic Rates and the Winds from Black Hole Accretion Disks
10:00-10:30 Nancy Brickhouse: Astrophysical Priorities for Accurate X-ray Spectroscopic Diagnostics


10:30-11:00 Morning Break

Session VI: Spectroscopy and Atomic Data
Chair: Sultana Nahar

11:00-11:30 Peter Storey: Recombination-line spectroscopy - theory and applications
11:30-12:00  Tim Kallman:  Sensitivity Analysis Applied to Atomic Data Used for X-ray Spectrum Synthesis

Claudio Mendoza: Atomic data for the modeling of K lines in elements with "10≤ Z≤ 20"

12:15-12:30 Anil Pradhan: A proposal for improved Iron Project calulations for collision strengths (Abstract) (Presentation)
12:30-2:00   Lunch Break  

Session VII: The Iron Project Progress Reports: I. Collisional Calculations
Chair: Claudio Mendoza

2:00-2:15 Brenden M. McLaughlin: Electron collisions with Fe-peak elements


2:15-2:30  Mike Witthoeft:  Excitation calculations along the F-like iso-electronic sequence
2:30-2:45 Marcio Melendez: Electron impact excitation and radiative transition rates for Cr II (Co-authors: Meriela Martinez, Manuel A. Bautista, Connor Ballance)
2:45-3:00 Marcio Melendez: Radiative transition rates and collision strengths for the n=3,4,5,6,7,8 configurations of Ca II (Co-authors: M. A. Bautista & N.R Badnell) (Abstract)
3:00-3:15  Manuel A. Bautista: A large scale representation of Fe II with AUTOSTRUCTURE (First Author: Jorge Troconis) (Abstract) (Presentation)

Patrick Palmeri:  On the 1S2s2p 4Po5/2 metastable state in the Li-like ions

(Abstract) (Presentation)
3:30-4:00     Afternoon Break  
Session VIII: The Iron Project Progress Reports: II. Radiative Calculations
Chair: Werner Eissner
4:00-4:15  John Tully: Z dependence of gf values (Abstract) (Presentation)
4:15-4:30  Sultana N. Nahar: Allowed and forbidden transitions in Fe XIX (Abstract) (Presentation)
4:30-4:45  Brenden M. McLaughlin: Photon Interactions with Atomic Systems: Theory and Experiment (Abstract)

Manuel A. Bautista: Photoionization of Fe V around the 3p → 3d core excitation region

(Abstract) (Presentation)
5:00-5:15   Manuel A. Bautista: Photoionization of neutral Ti and Cr (Abstract)

Sultana N. Nahar: Photoionization and electron-ion recombination of Na IX, Na X, Mg X, Mg XI

(Abstract) (Presentation)

Wednesday, August 9     Phillips Auditorium
8:30-9:00 Coffee and Pastries  

Session IX: The Iron Project Reports III.: Spectral Analysis
Chair: Manuel Bautista

9:00-9:15 Peter Storey: The FeXI spectrum near 200 A - constructing an accurate target
            (Co-authors: Giulio Del Zanna and Helen Mason)
9:15-9:30 Franck Delahaye:  From accurate atomic data to elaborate stellar modeling
9:30-9:45 Justin Oelgoetz:  Combining R-Matrix and non R-Matrix Atomic data for spectral modeling: the Generic Spectral Modeling (GSM) approach

(Abstract) (Presentation)

9:45-10:00 Max Montenegro: Application of the new radiative-collisional code GSM in             Astrophysics

Javier Garcia: On the X-ray reflected spectra from accretion disk models (Co-authors: Timothy Kallman & Sergei Nayakshin)


Chiranjib Sur:  Analysis of Fe XVI Spectra: Atomic Structure calculation using Relativistic Coupled Cluster Theory

(Abstract) (Presentation)

Morning Break


Session X: The Iron Project Reports IV.: New Code Development and Databases
Chair:Werner Eissner

11:00-11:30 Connor Ballance: An overview of a parallel suite of non-relativistic, semi-relativistic and fully-relativistic R-matrix codes for electron-impact excitation and photoionisation of atomic systems (Abstract) (Presentation)
11:30-11:45 Honglin Zhang:  An overview of the Los Alamos suite of atomic physics codes
(Co-authors: C.J. Fontes, J.-Jr. Abdallah et al)
(Abstract) (Presentation)
11:45-12:00 Enrico Landi: Recent advances in the CHIANTI project (Abstract)
12:00-12:15 Enrico Landi:  Benchmarking atomic data for X-ray lines (Abstract) (Presentation)
12:15-12:30 Peter Young:  Assessing atomic models for forbidden transitions (Abstract) (Presentation)
12:30-12:45 Peter Young: Including ionization and recombination in CHIANTI (Abstract) (Presentation)

Lunch Break


Session XI: ITAMP/Iron Project: Discussion on New Initiatives
Moderator: Anil Pradhan


Contributors: Kate Kirby, Yan Yu, Vijay Sheorey, Enrico Landi, 
Nancy Brickhouse, and Iron Project members


Afternoon Break


Session XII: Iron Project Business Meeting
Chair: Sultana Nahar

4:00-5:30   New Coordinator, Next Meeting, Vote of Thanks to ITAMP  

Meeting Adjourned




 Other ITAMP Workshops