ITAMP Postdoctoral Fellowship Information


No Postdoctoral Fellowship Positions for 2014-15

* Frequently Asked Questions
* Fellowship Application Login

One or two new Postdoctoral Fellowship appointments are made each year to support a promising scientist who has recently received a Ph.D. degree to carry out research in any area of Theoretical Atomic and Molecular Physics at the Institute. The Fellowship is for two years with possible renewal for a third year. Unlike most postdoctoral appointments, the possible research topics in Atomic and Molecular Physics are not constrained by contract or grant requirements.

The Institute for Theoretical Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics was established in November 1988 at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics in order to address the critical shortage of theorists in atomic and molecular physics at major universities throughout the nation. The objectives of the Institute were and are:
* Attracting and training graduate students of the highest quality in theoretical AMO Physics;
* Maintaining an active visitors program to bring senior researchers together for varying lengths of time for scientific collaboration;
* Establishing a strong post-doctoral fellowship program as a source of potential University faculty.

Application Requirements: The ITAMP Postdoctoral Program is designed for candidates whose interests and proposed research programs fall under any any area of Theoretical Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics. Applicants are expected to pursue research programs of their own conception and design, and they should state clearly why they believe that their professional goals would be furthered through research opportunities here. Applicants are expected to demonstrate their capability for original research through several first-author refereed publications in major physics journals.

How to Apply:
 ITAMP applications for the 2014 Postdoctoral Fellowship is closed.

The deadline for all application material was Nov. 4, 2013.  Letters of reference should be submitted by December 2, 2013. Here is APS Link. Applications will be accepted beginning September 1

Online admissions materials are due before the deadline. The first time you go to the below link you will need register for a login password. When you see the Login page, click on the "Update Account" button. This will take you to a form where you will create your account. Make sure that you remember your password so that you can return to the same application to finish your application, or to make changes.

The online application can be found

Complete the following sections of the online application:

Personal Information Section of Online Application

Proposed Research Section of Online Application

Upload in PDF or Text Format:

1) Curriculum Vita Publication

2) List Summary of Previous

3) Current Research (up to 3 pages)

4) Research Proposal (up to 4 pages)
Proposals, with images and references included, should not exceed 4 pages. Four pages is the maximum, not the absolute standard; therefore, applicants may submit summaries and proposals that are less than 4 pages. The font type should be equivalent to Times New Roman, size 12

5) Three Letters of Reference:

Steps for submitting references:
A. Contact your references. Make sure that they are available to submit the reference and are willing to write a letter on your behalf.
B. The applicant supplies the name and email of each referee in the application form.
C. A message is emailed to each reference, which provides a unique URL.
D. The reference uses the URL give in their email to upload the letter.
E. Once the reference letter has been uploaded, the applicant will see "Complete" when checking the appropriate area of the application status page.

Stipend: Approximately $62,500 with support available for travel to scientific conferences.

Health Insurance: Postdoctoral fellows will receive support for health insurance in the Harvard University Group Health Program (HUGHP), or an amount up to but not to exceed the cost of HUGHP for any other health insurance plans available.

Selection process:
               The ITAMP Fellowships Committee, comprised of ITAMP scientific staff, selects a short list of applicants. The short-listed applicants are invited to ITAMP for one-day interview (presentation and discussion with the staff). The ITAMP Advisory Board is consulted on the short-list, and upon the completion of the interviews and feedback from the Board, the Fellowships Committee selects one or more applicants as the recipient of the ITAMP Postdoctoral Fellowship(s).

NOTE: The Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory issues only J-1 visas to international exchange scholars selected for the ITAMP fellowship.

The Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer where all qualified applicants will receive consideration for employment without regard to race, creed, color, sex or national origin.


List of ITAMP Postdoctoral Fellows

 James Babb 1988  Michael Moore 2000 Seth Rittenhouse 2009
Gerald Bottrell 1989  Brian Granger  2001  Johannes Feist 2009
Timothy Scholz 1990  Daniel Vrinceanu 2001 Charles Mathy
James Boyle 1991 Xi Chu 2001 Hendrick Weimer
*Tony Scott 1991 Anders Sorensen 2002 Chris Laumann (Univ. of Washington) 2010
Atac Imamoglu 1992 Deborah Santamore 2003 Jerome Loreau (Brussels)
Li You 1993 Dmitry Petrov 2003 Marko Gacesa* 2010
Jack Wells 1994 Francois Shindo 2003 Mikhail Lemeshko
Eddy Timmermans 1995 Liqiang Wei 2003  Emanuele Dalla Torre (joint position)
*Zong-Chao Yan 1995 Robin Santra 2004  Tony Lee (Cal Tech)  2012
*Maxim Olchanyi (Olshanii) 1995 Guo-Xin Chen (CFA) 2004  Swati Singh (Arizona)  2012
Robin Cote 1996 Ana Maria Rey 2005  Chris Chan* (UCSD)  2012
*Bilha Segev (deceased) 1996 Thomas Pohl 2005  Eric Kessler (ITAMP/HQOC)  2013
Brett Esry 1997 Peng Zhang (Duke Univ.)
2005  Michael Knap   2013
*Martin Naraschewski 1997 Paola Cappellaro 2006  Richard Schmidt  2013
Mikhail Lukin 1998 Peter Rabl 2007  Igor Pikovski (Vienna)
 *Doron Cohen 1998 Elena Kuznetsova(Russian Quantum Center) 2007  Stefan Pabst (University of Hamburg)
*Susanne Yelin  1999 Barbara Capogrosso-Sansone 2008    
 Amichay Vardi 1999 Timur Tscherbul (Univ. of Toronto)