National livestream star party graphic
May 19, 2020

Join Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory and our friends for a Nationwide Livestream Star Party, on May 22, 2020!

Prof. Lars Hernquist
May 6, 2020

Lars Hernquist of the Center for Astrophysics | Harvard & Smithsonian has been awarded the 2020 Gruber Cosmology Prize along with Volker Springel of the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics. This award is in recognition of Hernquist and Planck's foundational work in cosmological simulations and structure formation in the universe.

Prof. Avi Loeb
April 22, 2020

Harvard Astronomy department chair Abraham Loeb has been nominated to the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST). The council advises the president of the United States on science and technology.