ITC Postdoctoral Fellowship: Overview

Applications are invited for Postdoctoral Research Positions in the Institute for Theory and Computation (ITC) at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics. One of the primary objectives of the ITC is to integrate conceptual theory with computational modeling. We are, therefore, interested in candidates working in any field related to theoretical and/or numerical astrophysics.

Successful candidates will have access to our new computing facilities and will have the opportunity to interact and work with researchers in both the Harvard College Observatory (HCO) and the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO). Current senior members of the ITC include Harvard faculty Charles Alcock, Daniel Eisenstein, Doug Finkbeiner, Lars Hernquist, John Johnson, John Kovac, Avi Loeb, James Moran, Ramesh Narayan, Karin Oberg, Dimitar Sasselov, Irwin Shapiro, Alicia Soderberg, Charlie Conroy, and Chris Stubbs; as well as SAO scientists Steven Cranmer, Rosanne Di Stefano, Matt Holman, Eric Keto, Mark Reid, and Alexey Vikhlinin.

The nominal starting date is September 1, 2019, but earlier appointments are possible. The positions are for two years, renewable for a third year, contingent on performance and funding.

For application instructions and to login to the application, please see the Application page.


Clay Fellow Warren Brown