Lecar Prize Nominations

The Lecar Prize selection committee is soliciting nominations for future recipients of the Lecar Prize. These should be in the form of a simple, brief letter, preferably emailed in to Matthew Holman (mholman@cfa.harvard.edu). There is no restriction on the age of the recipient, although the award will not be given posthumously. Nominations received by November 30, 2019 will be considered for the 2020 Lecar Prize and will be valid for five years.

The Lecar Prize was endowed by a generous gift from the estate of Myron S. Lecar to encourage and recognize exceptional contributions to the study of extrasolar planets in particular and theoretical astrophysics in general. The recipient receives an honorarium and delivers a lecture at Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics.

Dr. Myron "Mike" Lecar joined the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory in 1965, at the invitation of Fred Whipple. He remained with SAO until his retirement in 2009. Mike's research interests included gravitational dynamics, planet formation, and the dynamics of our solar system. Asteroid (4417) Lecar is named in his honor. Among his many accomplishments, Mike was particularly proud of his role in establishing the first astronomical observatory in Israel. Mike was a founding member of the Harvard Origins of Life Initiative. He was a friend and mentor to many.

The selection committee

Sean M. Andrews
Matthew J. Holman (chair)
Dimitar D. Sasselov