The Submillimeter Array SMA News
 
The Submillimeter Array (SMA) is an 8-element radio interferometer located atop Mauna Kea in Hawaii. Operating at frequencies from 180 GHz to 700 GHz, the 6m dishes may be arranged into configurations with baselines as long as 509m, producing a synthesized beam of sub-arcsecond width. Each element can observe with two receivers simultaneously, with 2 GHz bandwidth each. The digital correlator backend allows flexible allocation of thousands of spectral channels to each receiver.

SMA Site Hawaii
The Submillimeter Array is a joint project between the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory and the Academia Sinica Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics and is funded by the Smithsonian Institution and the Academia Sinica.
SMA Director: Dr. Ray Blundell
SMA Project Scientist: Dr. Eric Keto
For the latest Newsletter please see: SMA Newsletter January 2014.

"Check out what SMA Post Docs are up to!"
 
SMA: First Decade of Discovery
June 9-10, 2014

Conference Website
Registration Now Open! Celebrating 10 years of research with the SMA and looking forward to the future, this conference focuses on submillimeter-wavelength science at high angular resolution. Topics to be covered include star formation, proplanetary disks, nearby and distant galaxies, magnetic fields in the interstellar medium, high-energy and time-variable phenomena, the galactic center, the solar system, and submillimeter instrumentation.  
Read More...
February 26, 2014 SMA Unveils How Small Cosmic Seeds Grow Into Big Stars New images from the Smithsonian's Submillimeter Array (SMA) telescope provide the most detailed view yet of stellar nurseries within the Snake nebula. These images offer new insights into how cosmic seeds can grow into massive stars.  
Read More...
January 16, 2014 Call for SMA Science Observing Proposals The SMA is currently accepting proposals for the 2014A observing semester (2014 May 16 through 2014 Nov 15) from principal investigators from the worldwide astronomical community. The proposal deadline is 13 February 2014, 16:00 EST/11:00 HST (Hawaii)/21:00 GMT/14 February 2014, 05:00 CST (Taipei).  
Details here...
More News >
Prior Events >